Marriott International Honors Exceptional Associates at 2024 J. Willard Marriott Awards of Excellence

Marriott International Honors Exceptional Associates at 2024 J. Willard Marriott Awards of Excellence

Annual ceremony honors Marriott associates for exemplary achievements and outstanding service to communities, guests and each other

(IN SHORT) Marriott International recently celebrated the achievements of its finest associates from around the globe at the annual J. Willard Marriott Awards of Excellence ceremony. Established in 1987, the awards recognize individuals and properties exemplifying outstanding service, community engagement, and commitment to excellence. The ceremony, attended by Marriott leadership and associates, showcased the inspiring stories of the 10 individual winners, three Marriott properties, and two Marriott Business Councils, highlighting their dedication to upholding the company’s core values. Anthony Capuano, President and CEO of Marriott International, expressed pride in the honorees’ remarkable accomplishments, emphasizing their role as models of service excellence and leadership. The event also featured distinguished guests including David Marriott and Debbie Marriott Harrison, underscoring Marriott’s commitment to recognizing and celebrating excellence across its global network.

(PRESS RELEASE) BETHESDA, MD, 2024-May-17 — /Travel PR News/ — Marriott International is proud to celebrate the winners of the 2024 J. Willard Marriott Awards of Excellence at the company’s annual ceremony, which brought together associates from around the world. Established in 1987 and named after Marriott’s founder, the J. Willard Marriott Awards of Excellence honors the company’s finest associates who are recognized for their achievements, service mindset, and commitment to excellence.

At the awards ceremony, the 10 individual winners, three Marriott properties and two Marriott Business Councils from around the world, took the stage to share their incredible stories with fellow associates and Marriott leadership. The awards focus in several areas, including honoring outstanding community engagement, workplace inclusion initiatives, exemplifying the company’s core values, driving innovation, empowering the future generation of leaders, and creating a TakeCare culture of promoting physical, mental, and financial wellness.

“I am inspired by the incredible stories and exemplary character of this year’s Awards of Excellence winners,” said Anthony Capuano, President and Chief Executive Officer of Marriott International. “These honorees embody our company values and are a shining example of service excellence. They embolden us all to strive to be the best individuals, community members, and leaders we can be, and I am so proud of their tremendous accomplishments.”

Mr. Capuano kicked off the celebration with Chairman of the Board David Marriott and Board Member and Global Cultural Ambassador Emeritus Debbie Marriott Harrison, who served as the emcees throughout the event.

The 2024 J. Willard Marriott Awards of Excellence winners are:

  • Irma Cruz, Loss Prevention Supervisor, W Mexico City, Mexico City, Mexico
  • Jennifer Chenggish, Front Office Supervisor, Four Points by Sheraton Surabaya, Pakuwon Indah, East Java, Indonesia
  • Bahieh Musa, Front Desk Lead – Night Audit, Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville, Charlottesville, Virginia
  • Meinrad Villano, Guest Experience Expert, Delta Hotels Edmonton Centre Suites, Alberta, Canada
  • Julia Borrego¸ Housekeeping Public Space Attendant, Renaissance Tulsa Hotel & Convention Center, Tulsa, OK
  • Anna Pazdera, Executive Head Chef, London Heathrow Marriott Hotel, Hayes, United Kingdom
  • John Hofer, Engineer, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe, Truckee, CA
  • Dawit Anteneh, Central Plant Stationary Engineer Supervisor, Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, Denver, CO
  • Jose D. Leon, Assistant Banquet and Event Manager, Boston Marriott Cambridge, Cambridge, MA
  • Jessie Wang, Executive Housekeeper, Sheraton Chengdu Lido Hotel, Sichuan, China
  • Alice S. Marriott Award for Community Service: JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, Cusco, Peru
  • Debbie Marriott Harrison TakeCare Award of Excellence: Lagos Marriott Hotel Ikeja, Lagos, Nigeria
  • J.W. Marriott, Jr. Diversity Excellence Award: Costa Rica Marriott Hotel Hacienda Belén, Heredia, Costa Rica
  • David S. Marriott Next Gen Business Council Award: Marriott Business Council Vietnam & Cambodia
  • Stephen Garff Marriott Award of Excellence for Culture: Hawaii Business Council, Maui, Hawaii

To learn more about the awards program visit

About Marriott International
Marriott International, Inc. (Nasdaq: MAR) is based in Bethesda, Maryland, USA, and encompasses a portfolio of nearly 8,900 properties across more than 30 leading brands in 141 countries and territories. Marriott operates and franchises hotels and licenses vacation ownership resorts all around the world. The company offers Marriott Bonvoy®, its highly awarded travel program. For more information, please visit our website at In addition, connect with us on Facebook and @MarriottIntl on X and Instagram.

Media Contact:

Maggie McNerney
Senior Manager, Public Relations
Marriott International

Source: Marriott International, Inc.