AAAE Elects Salt Lake City Department of Airports Director Randy Berg as its chairman for 2014-2015

Alexandria, VA, 2014-5-27 — /Travel PR News/ — Randy Berg, A.A.E., Director of Airport Operations at the Salt Lake City Department of Airports, took office May 21 as Chair of the American Association of Airport Executives (AAAE) for 2014-2015. Founded in 1928, AAAE is the world’s largest professional organization representing the men and women who work at public-use commercial and general aviation airports. Other key appointments to the Association’s Executive Committee, Board of Directors, and Policy Review Committee were also finalized during the conference and exposition.

“Dedicated service from an outstanding and diverse group of volunteer leaders is a hallmark of AAAE, and we are fortunate that so many talented executives have stepped forward to continue the tradition and help guide the Association in the year ahead,” AAAE President and CEO Todd Hauptli said. “On behalf of the AAAE team, I congratulate each of them on the recognition they have earned from their peers and extend our sincere appreciation for their continued commitment to our organization and to the airport profession.”

Berg was one of six Executive Committee Members elected by the AAAE membership during the 86th Annual AAAE Conference and Exposition, held May 18-21 in San Antonio, Texas and hosted by the San Antonio International Airport. He succeeds Mark Brewer, A.A.E., Airport Director, Manchester-Boston Regional Airport, who becomes First Past Chair. Second Past Chair is Bruce Carter, A.A.E., Director of Aviation, Quad City International.

Other new officers elected by the Association’s membership are: First Vice Chair, Jeff Mulder, A.A.E., Director of Airports, Tulsa International Airport; Second Vice Chair, Carl Newman, A.A.E., General Manager, Houston Airport System; and Secretary/Treasurer, Scott Brockman, A.A.E., President and CEO, Memphis-Shelby County Airport Authority.

Members of the AAAE Board of Directors are: Tommy Bibb, A.A.E., Director of Properties, Business Development, Metropolitan Nashville Airport Authority; Chris Browne, C.M., Vice President and Airport Manager, Dulles International Airport; Kelly Campbell, A.A.E., Executive Director, Lubbock Preston Smith International; Rod Dinger, A.A.E., Airport Manager, Redding Municipal Airport; John Duval, A.A.E., National Aviation Director, Austin Commercial; Tim Edwards, A.A.E., Executive Director, Harrisburg International; Luis Elguezabal, A.A.E., Airport Director, San Angelo Regional Airport; Mark Gale, A.A.E., CEO, Philadelphia International; Charles Goodwin, A.A.E., Director, Airport Operations, Columbus Regional Airport Authority; Claudia Holliway, National Aviation Market Lead, Michael Baker International; Larry Krauter, A.A.E., AICP, CEO, Spokane International; Mike Landguth, A.A.E., President and CEO, Raleigh-Durham Airport Authority; Scott Malta, A.A.E.., Airport Manager, Castle Airport; Al Pollard, A.A.E., Director, Martin State Airport; Barry Rondinella, A.A.E., Director of Operations, Los Angeles International; Shawn Schroeder, A.A.E., Assistant Director of Aviation, Springfield/Branson National Airport; Marshall Stevens, A.A.E., Deputy Executive Director, Harrisburg International; Walt Strong, A.A.E., Director, Max Westheimer Airport; Al Stuart, A.A.E., Superintendent of Operations, Salt Lake City International; and Paul Wiedefeld, A.A.E., CEO, Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport.

Members of the Policy Review Committee are: Iftikhar Ahmad, P.E., Director of Aviation, Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport; Bonnie Allin, A.A.E, President/CEO, Tucson Airport Authority; Rosemarie Andolino, Commissioner, Chicago Department of Aviation; Bill Barkhauer, A.A.E., Executive Director, Morristown Municipal Airport; Danette Bewley, A.A.E., Vice President of Operations and Projects/COO, Tucson Airport Authority; Thella Bowens, President/CEO, San Diego County Regional Airport Authority; Al Denson, A.A.E., President/CEO, Birmingham Airport Authority; Mario Diaz, Director of Aviation, Houston Airport System; Kevin Dillon, A.A.E., Executive Director, Bradley International; Jim Elwood, A.A.E., Airport Director, Aspen/Pitkin County Airport; Kent George, A.A.E., Director of Aviation, Broward County Aviation Department; Tom Greer, A.A.E., General Manager, Monterey Peninsula Airport District; Gary Johnson, C.M., Airport Director, Stillwater Regional Airport; Kelly Johnson, A.A.E., Airport Director, Northwest Arkansas Regional Airport; Chad Makovsky, C.M., ACE, Assistant Aviation Director, Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport; Ron Mathieu, C.M., Executive Director, Bill and Hillary Clinton National Airport; Erin O’Donnell, Managing Deputy Commissioner, Chicago Midway International; Robert Olislagers, A.A.E., Executive Director, Centennial Airport; Elaine Roberts, A.A.E., President/CEO, Columbus Regional Airport Authority; Ricky Smith, Director of Airports, Cleveland Airport System; Mark VanLoh, A.A.E., Director of Aviation, Kansas City International; and Rob Wigington, President and CEO, Metropolitan Nashville Airport Authority.

Also at the conference, outgoing-Chair Mark Brewer awarded the 2014 AAAE Chair’s Award posthumously to Henry Ogrodzinski, who served with distinction for many years as President and CEO of the National Association of State Aviation Officials (NASAO). Other key honors presented at the conference included:

  • 2014 Distinguished Service Award: Bruce Carter, A.A.E., Director of Aviation , Quad City International
  • 2015 Distinguished Service Award: James Loomis, A.A.E., City Manager, City of Lubbock, Texas
  • Corporate Cup: Woodward & Associates (small company category), Austin Commercial (medium company category), and URS Corporation (large company category)

More than 1,850 aviation industry leaders, representing nearly 250 airports attended the 86th Annual AAAE Conference and Exposition. The agenda featured Southwest Airlines Chairman, President and CEO Gary Kelly; former U.S. Housing and Urban Development Secretary Henry Cisneros; New York Times Columnist and Author Adam Bryant; U.S. Department of Homeland Security Deputy Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas; senior executives from across the aviation industry; and key government officials from FAA and TSA.

The 87th Annual AAAE Conference & Exposition will take place June 7-10, 2015, in Philadelphia. Philadelphia International Airport will host the event.

# # #

ABOUT AAAE: Founded in 1928, AAAE is the world’s largest professional organization representing the men and women who work at public-use commercial and general aviation airports. AAAE’s 5,000-plus members represent some 850 airports and hundreds of companies and organizations that support the airport industry. Headquartered in Alexandria, Va., AAAE serves its membership through results-oriented representation in Washington, D.C., and delivers a wide range of industry services and professional development opportunities, including training, conferences, and a highly respected accreditation program.


Joel D. Bacon
Executive Vice President, Government and Public Affairs
(703) 824-0500, Ext. 154

Gwen Basaria
Staff Vice President, Digital Communications and Federal Affairs
(703) 824-0500, Ext. 187